51/366 [Still ticking]

Still ticking

This old cottage clock was made in America over one hundred years ago. I love the loud ticking the pendulum makes as it taps back and forth in the ornate window and the quarter-hour chimes somehow reassure me as I go through my day. This would have taken pride of place on a shelf or mantlepiece in a parlour somewhere. Marking out the hours and days for years and years until it could do it no more. I found it dusty and silent in the back of an antique store in Hawthorn one lunchtime and had to have it. I found a man, passionate about old clocks, to restore it so that it can continue to mark the minutes of the passing digital age.

~ by korechronicles on February 20, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
