56/366 [Unforgiving]

Unforgiving

The combination of harsh fluorescent lights and a full wall of mirrors in this innocuous looking transportable classroom brought me to a decision tonight. I have not been treating myself well and it shows. Oh, how it shows! I took an introductory tap class two years ago because it was something I had longed to do since I was four years old. My mother thought dancers were snotty brats and so we were enrolled in calisthenics for a short while before moving to gymnastics which was nothing but sheer hard work with a slice of deadly fear thrown in for good measure. But the love for tap never went away. The pleasure I get from bopping around and making lots of noise to great music was diminished tonight by my reflection in the mirror. So it’s back to the basics of making healthier choices in my life.

~ by korechronicles on February 25, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
