66/366 [Touch typist]

Keyboard

My mother insisted that I learn to touch type. She dragged out her old business school typing drills whenever I so much as thought, “I’m bored” in the school holidays. I was incredibly snotty about it. “I’m doing academic subjects not commercial ones” “I’ll never, ever be a typist” “I’m never going to need to type.” But I typed qwertrt and asdfgf over and over again as the book demanded without looking at the keys on Mum’s old Remington. And now, I live on my computer, everlastingly grateful I can type using all my fingers while watching my thoughts take shape on the screen.

~ by korechronicles on March 6, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
