92/366 [Fragmented]

Fragmented

My passion for collecting Imari china of the 1920’s came from a single, treasured, Burgess cup and saucer my grannie brought with her from Manchester in 1926. Two sandwich plates hung on display in my entry hall until  the day a slammed kitchen door caused one of them to smash on the slate floor. Distressed, I gathered the pieces together in a brown paper bag until recently, when I found someone who did what I had thought impossible and brought the fragments back into a whole. Today I sat and drank my afternoon tea at this table and loved my transformed plate in a whole new way.

~ by korechronicles on April 1, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
