148/366 [A fine inheritance]

Imari trio

My grandmother never really accepted Australia as home despite arriving here in 1926 from the UK. She had a left behind a large extended family and a cold, damp climate to spend her days battling heat, dust and flies in a small country town by the sea. She tried really hard to keep alive the traditions and customs of home and it was from her and my grandfather I learned the ritual of afternoon tea. She had one single cup, saucer and plate left in these Imari colours, which came to me after her death. I would buy other sets whenever I saw one and now I have close to thirty and no two are the same. Used them to serve tea at book group (I use this term lightly as our conversations tend to roam far and wide without lingering all that long on books) tonight. And every sip reminded me of Granny and how much I loved her.

~ by korechronicles on May 27, 2008.

7 Responses to “148/366 [A fine inheritance]”

  1. Oooo pretty 🙂 I suck at photography…here via NaComLeavMo and looking forward to seeing what’s up next time I drop by…

  2. What a very cool gift from your Granny. This is also a neat collection for you to have. I’m sure you have some beautiful pieces. Non that will compare to the one you were given…

  3. That is beautiful, I love stuff like that.

  4. I’m returning your comment 🙂 You take beautiful pictures and this cup and saucer is lovely.

  5. What a lovely tradition that your grandmother passed on to you. There is nothing like afternoon tea served with scones, jam & cream.

  6. What lovely china. Such gorgeous colours.

  7. Thanks so much for your comment on my blog…so glad it led me here to yours.

    This picture of yours caught my eye – my husband collects English teacups (pre-1891 pieces) as well.

    I will be back to check out the rest of your photographs…they look gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

 
