May review

This was the month where the wheels began to vibrate hard and although they did not completely detach from the bus they were certainly making the ride a rough one as the month drew to a close. Not sure whether it was the shorter days, or the cold weather, or the pressure of having to find a photo EVERY day or some combination of all of them, but there was more than one occasion in the last ten days of this month that I struggled to find something that interested me enough to photograph it.

There also might have been a little over-confidence and post-holiday forces at work. It had become so effortless, up in the warm and tropical north, to find some lovely moment to capture. Back in cold, grey Melbourne the many moments failed to catch my photographic eye, or I had left the camera home or it was something I had already done. But…still here. Still going. Despite the road blocks.

My endearing trait of distractability saw me leave my camera behind at a friends house 100 kilometres away so there was no jumping back in the car to “just” go and get it. One of my older cameras was thrown into the breach for a day before it clearly decided to repay my taking up with a newer and shinier model by corrupting the memory card and holding my daily photo for that day to ransom. I’m still trying to figure out how to get that photo off the card. New software has finally come into my possession and I’ll give it my best shot before throwing my hands up in the air and abandoning that day entirely. And then quietly having a massive meltdown. Because I’m a perfectionist like that. And I can’t have a Project 366 WITH ONE PHOTO MISSING!

Not content with this act of defiance, the camera then refused to give up the next day’s photos at all despite the replacement of the corrupted card and two full days of sweet talking it into submission. I seriously considered throwing it at the wall. And, after five months of faultless performance, WordPress decided to get into the act and randomly refuse to display the photos on the blog. I was beginning to suspect dark forces were aligned against me. Just because you’re paranoid doesn’t mean things are not out to get you.

This was also the month I took a step out into the unknown and invited comments. I had kept the site out of public view because…well… despite working hard to overcome these not-so-attractive character traits, I’m shy and I pretty much suck at taking criticism. I also suspected that most people would find a succession of daily photos, even with tiny story attached, about as riveting as those old-fashioned slide nights when Uncle Bert would show his 54, 271 photos taken on the Women’s Weekly World Discovery Tour he went on with Auntie Mabel. And you peeled strips off the wallpaper behind your chair and wondered “When on God’s Good Earth will this be over so I can go outside and play?” So, BIG thank you to all you new visitors who were generous and graceful in your commenting. Much appreciated, you can all go outside and play now. Feel free to help yourself to lollies from the bowl on the table.

~ by korechronicles on May 31, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
