153/366 [Big girl’s blankie]

Blankie

My mother was a knitter par excellence so I was surprised when she returned from her only trip to the US with this crocheted, half finished blanket. She had fallen in love with the yarn and had to buy a second suitcase to carry back enough to finish the throw once she returned home. I didn’t care for the colour particularly, but as my mother and I disagreed on most matters of taste, this was no surprise. When she (almost*) finished it, it had pride of place on her bed.

After she died in early 2005, I found myself with a box of the leftover yarn. But no blanket. We did some serious detective work and found that my brother had used it to wrap a fragile old typewriter that he had inherited. It took weeks of constant nagging asking nicely but I was eventually able to claim the blanket as my own. It hangs over my study chair and when I wrap it round me on these cold nights of winter, it feels like my mother is keeping me warm.

* Apparently the little “ladder” strips on this blanket are meant to be gathered in groups of three and sewn together. I’ve never found the pattern and I very much doubt I could be bothered spending night after night counting and sewing. It’s a BIG blanket.

~ by korechronicles on June 1, 2008.

12 Responses to “153/366 [Big girl’s blankie]”

  1. I am glad that you have a tangible memory of your mother. I am envious of those that can sew/knit/crochet

  2. We all need a blankie, no matter how old we are!! That blankie looks really cosy and I am always impressed by people who can do that (apparently without any effort at all!) as I can’t knit, crochet or sew, but then again I have never really tried!!

  3. What a nice little legacy this blanket has!

    I crochet too and can appreciate the work that goes into a blanket this size. My great-grandmother started a granny square blanket that my mother inherited with only half the squares done and a bag of yarn. She did some more work on it and then I inherited it – a bag of squares and a bag of yarn. I finally finished it in 2003. I felt a wonderful connection to the previous ladies who had worked on it.

    Thanks for sharing!

  4. It is wonderful that you have something of your mother to hold on to (or wrap up in!) and even better that is has such a great story!

    Thanks for sharing!

  5. I love that you got it back. That’s a very very cool way to think of her often.

  6. great blanket, although I’m not sure the colours are quite me either. I start projects like this, but never ever finish them. Am sooooo hungry for fish & chips now you’ve mentioned them!

  7. I agree, the blanket looks very cozy and I love the idea of being wrapped up in something my mom made.

    (here from NaComLeavMo)

  8. What a lovely way to remember and honor your mother!

  9. The colors aren’t me either, but what a wonderful way to feel wrapped in your mother’s arms. I’m so glad to got it back from your brother!

  10. From NCLM, what a neat way to remember your mother.

  11. I love the blanket and the story that goes with it. I’m so glad you got it back.

    (Also, well done for getting the albatross reference on my blog! I thought I had just been a teeny tiny bit too obscure there, but there’s no fooling a Python fan).

  12. Here via NCLM, and loving your photographs and your vignettes. A very nice compilation, particularly this one.

Leave a Reply

 
