156/366 [Pushing my buttons]

Pushing my buttons

Went looking for buttons to complete a knitting project tonight. Seemed like a simple task. Trouble is, my button stash is seriously out of control. The need for a cull is long overdue. It is impossible, in however many years I have left to me or, despite all the various button-utilising creations I make, to use them all. Or even one-tenth of them. So there I sat, dipping my hands into the tubs of buttons and letting them run through my fingers. Trying to figure out which ones I could live without.

~ by korechronicles on June 4, 2008.

8 Responses to “156/366 [Pushing my buttons]”

  1. Ooh. What will you do with the ones you cull? Cause I can think of lots of teachers who would love to get their hands on a nice stash of buttons . . .

  2. I thought I was the only person on Earth insane enough to have an extensive “button collection.” 😉

  3. I don’t have an extensive button collection, but I can understand the addiction. I have several like that…the first one being books, the second being fabric. Too many of both.

    I love your blog banner!

    Here via NCLM

  4. This picture brought back some really nice memories of sorting through my grandmother’s positively insanely huge button collection as a child. I never knew just what I’d find in that box.

    J

  5. One of my favorite memories of my Granny is her button jar. They were all different and even at a young age, I would think about all the wonderful stories those buttons could tell.

    Thanks for bringing it back, I hadn’t thought about it in a long time.

  6. I’m pretty sure that a fair slab of my positively insanely huge button collection (thanks geohde!) were my Granny’s, added to by my mother and then handed on to me. In their depression era frugality, an item of clothing was never thrown away without first removing the buttons or zips. Luckily I didn’t inherit the zip collection.

  7. VaNaComLeavMo..
    Another knitter! My button collection is so small as to be non-existent, my yarn collection on the other hand is very large in comparison to the time I’ve been knitting. How do you end up with a button collection, where do you get them from? After all good buttons finish off a wonderful project!

  8. None of them, because even though they may look similar, they are all different…..

    Stomping over from NCLM

Leave a Reply

 
