160/366 [Cherished]

Today’s entry in Sunday Show and Tell. Santa Claus left this little cupboard in my Christmas stocking when I was ten. He left each of my sisters one as well – one pink, the other red but with a different flower design. The ring on the little mirrored door had a red tassel on it which is lost in the realms of past time. It was meant to be a little treasure box. My jewelery at that stage consisted of multiple brightly coloured plastic beads, some gold plated chains, a blue and silver enameled cross and a collection of lurid glass-stoned rings on adjustable bands. My dad always referred to them as being 18 carat beef can.

I left it behind when I struck out into the big wide world on my own and it was years later that my mother brought it out and asked me if I wanted to take it home. Since then it has sat on the top of the roll top desk in the family room. There is nothing in it now except happy memories.

~ by korechronicles on June 8, 2008.

8 Responses to “160/366 [Cherished]”

  1. Happy memories are all that count! Thanks for sharing.

  2. What a beautiful treasure box! I had one as a kid, too. It held all my first love letters and tacky jewelry. I wonder what happened to it?

  3. I still have one of my jewelry boxes from when I was younger and it still holds little trinkets, but no real jewelry. I like the happy memories that it holds too!

  4. What a lovely little box and lovely memories.

  5. Oh how gorgeous

  6. I love your photo a day project. If I did not have so much in my life that I am having to seriously cull, I would take it on! NCLM is enough for me at the moment. In fact, I could go as far as to say TOO much…

  7. Here via Mel’s Show and Tell.

    What a lovely treasure box! (And so different from the junk available today with all the plastic and licensed characters.)

  8. Popping by from Mel’s Show and Tell.

    What a wonderful keepsake. I have a little box from my Gran that holds nothing but memories too.

Leave a Reply

 
