166/366 [My new toy]

New Toy

My Show and Tell for the week finally came out of the box this morning. I have been lusting after looking at buying this camera for the better part of a year. This 366 photo project would never have happened without my old reliable point and shoot which has the great advantage of being smaller than a packet of cigarettes and so easily portable that it fits in my handbag without displacing any of the other critical junk items I carry around with me. It was hard to justify the expense of a digital SLR – I’m not a professional photographer or even in a camera club where I might be tempted to enter my shots in photographic competitions. I just love trying to capture moments of life as I come across them. Now I’m not working I have more time to play. So it just seemed the right time to learn how to play hard.

~ by korechronicles on June 14, 2008.

8 Responses to “166/366 [My new toy]”

  1. I came from Mels, Show And Tell.
    I am so envious of your new toy!
    Your photos are great! I enjoy taking photos also.
    Not sure if you know of http://www.redbubble.com it is a nice way of sharing your work.

    Have loads of fun!!

  2. Great idea. I have also been wanting to get a digital SLR for quite some time now (even though I am nothing close to a professional photographer). I think you will appreciate it a lot now that you have some time off- you can figure out all of the great things that it will do! Cheers from NCLM.

  3. I can’t believe you thought you needed to justify such a purchase! I hope you have fun with it.

    I love your 366 project. There is a farm I drive by every day on my way to work, and for the last few years, I’ve been thinking that I would like to take a picture of it every day. I love the way it changes through the seasons.

  4. Wiping the drool off of my chin right now! Congrats on your purchase. I, as many people am hoping to purchase one soon too. Have fun.

  5. Woohoo! I love new toys like that!! Was very excited when I had my first digital camera last year! My next new toy is going to be a laptop!! I hope you have lots of fun taking lots of photographs, just don’t forget to show us the odd one now and then!

  6. That is SO COOL! We have a digital SLR and LOVE IT! You’ll be glad you spent the money.

    NCLM

  7. Have fun playing with your new toy!

  8. Sweet toy!

    I scrolled through a bunch of your images, you have some very nice, imaginative shots. It will be fun to see what you can do with your new guy.

    nclm

Leave a Reply

 
