175/366 [Puddlejumper]

This bronze sculpture stands alongside the path that leads to our local library. It is Alan Marshall who, at the end of his life, lived in the area and is also commemorated with a short story award presented annually in his honour. His book “I Can Jump Puddles”, the first of a three part autobiography, tells of the struggles of his early life after he contracted polio as a six year old. I always feel his approval when I walk back to the car with my newly chosen books under my arm. And I have to resist the urge to read him a couple of chapters before I go home.

~ by korechronicles on June 23, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
