182/366 [Playground]

Some of the children who lived in this council housing estate were the ones who made up the 23 nationalities in my very first grade 1 and 2 classroom at Cambridge Street Primary School. Many of the parents invited me to visit them and the great honour they felt that their child’s teacher would come to their home still makes me feel incredibly humble as the honour was just as much mine. These families that had travelled so far from the places their ancestors had lived in for centuries were so welcoming and generous to an incredibly shy 19 year old in her first real job that they gave me the foundation of the confidence I have today. The external environment of the estates is much more colourful today than the days I made my way to the unreliable lifts which would take me to the 23rd floor and a small cup of very strong turkish coffee.

~ by korechronicles on June 30, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
