193/366 [Street envy]

I live in a northern suburb in what is known as the Green Wedge of Melbourne. My house is on a street that has no kerbs or footpaths, just tracks that wind their way around gum trees and up and down the hills. Very few houses have front fences or made driveways, most of them built in the last seventy years, and they are almost always set some distance back from the road. And I really do love it here.

I had to travel across the river to the north-east today and, for a fleeting moment, I could not help thinking about what it would be like to like to live in a neat and tidy suburb with gracious old houses, where the foothpaths are level and head straight into the distance. And the street trees drop their leaves every year so you can see the last rays of the winter sun.

~ by korechronicles on July 11, 2008.

2 Responses to “193/366 [Street envy]”

  1. I’ve just caught up on all that I’ve missed – and you inspire me so very much! Just looking at your photos really make me feel as though I ‘know’ you – which I kind of do but not really if that makes sense!

    Have missed you – but feeling ok now and will do my best to be back!

    x

  2. The light in that picture makes it really lovely to look at.

    J

Leave a Reply

 
