227/366 [Fossilised]

There’s eighty square metres of Indian slate laid through our house. And I am closely acquainted with every single centimetre of it. When it was laid, we were on a very strict budget that did not include cleaning the grout off the tiles. So, my sister and I, with buckets of hot soapy water and steel wool, got down on our knees and over the course of a weekend scrubbed our way across all eighty metres. Twice.

One of the nicest bonuses of that job is that I know where all the fossils are hidden in the slate. This remnant of fern is a clear favourite. It’s also clear I should have swept the floor before I took this photo.

~ by korechronicles on August 14, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
