230/366 [Big day]

Today would have been my mother’s 87th birthday. It also marked the day my dad died 19 years ago. It never fazed my mother that the love of her life died on her birthday. After months of illness, she felt he had waited especially to wish her happy birthday. Today her oldest granddaughter, my middle child, gave us new and happy memories when she married the love of her life. It was the most wonderful day, informal and filled with laughter, love and bubbles – both water and alcohol based. The rain held off, although it was still bitterly cold.  There was sunshine and smiles, speeches and toasts, and a great time was had by all. Best of all, they got exactly the wedding they wanted.

~ by korechronicles on August 17, 2008.

3 Responses to “230/366 [Big day]”

  1. Oh! Oh! Oh! That is such a wonderful bouquet! I had one very simliar, ergo: it must have been a good choice!!!
    I do love weddings, I CRY and everything!
    We can has more?

  2. Photos, not weddings, that is. I haven’t yet grown to expect people on a different continent to arrange their lives to suit me. Although… I’m liking the sound of it…

  3. Wow – what wonderful sentiments associated with the date.

    And congratulations M.O.B. – I bet you had an absolute ball and are the proudest woman in our hemisphere!

    x

Leave a Reply

 
