242/366 [Not quite a hill of beans]

I’d never seen a borlotti bean before I married into a Sicilian family. Which is interesting, given that the bean seems to have originated in North America. I was fascinated with the beautiful reddish pink and cream pods hanging from the many plants in the extensive vegetable gardens of my husband’s relatives.

The dried beans, like the ones in my storage jar, are darker in colour and not as pretty as the fresh, but I like the way they look so individual in their own speckly way. I only wish they stayed like that when they are cooked, but sadly, they succumb to the heat and return to bean uniformity. Nonetheless, they make regular appearances in my minestrone, and favourite of the Senior Householder at Villa Kore – pasta e fagioli. It’s not exactly like Mamma used to make. But then, it wouldn’t be, would it?

~ by korechronicles on August 29, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
