263/366 [Design details]

It’s the little details that capture my imagination. Back in the day, when I was training to become a very young teacher, we did a semester of fabric printing. It was the height of tie/dye popularity and we also wielded the little wax pots over our batik with great enthusiasm. My greatest triumph, however, was the hours it took me to hand cut a stencil for the screenprinting class. And, this morning as I walked to work, the pattern of the hinge on this door reminded me of the patience I exhibited and the excitement I felt when I realised that what I had imagined, drawn, cut and printed, actually worked as a viable design.

~ by korechronicles on September 19, 2008.

One Response to “263/366 [Design details]”

  1. Love this hinge! It’s beautiful. (and old, I’m assuming…?)

Leave a Reply

 
