[October review]

I’m sure when I take a final look back on the entire 366 Photo Project in  sixty-one days time, I will remember October as the month where I came closest to abandoning it all. I lost count of the number of times I thought I had given it my best effort but I was not going to be able to finish it. Falling behind on downloading photos when the laptop was off for repair meant I fell behind with resizing them and posting them and writing about them. But, somehow, and I am not entirely sure how, I kept up with the photographs. Even as I write this there are five more October photos still on the memory card in my phone. The bluetooth phone that my laptop can no longer recognise. But I am sure I will eventually add them to the ones already documented and get them posted before New Year’s Eve.

And it was harder to find the photos this month. I was more critical and less abandoned, too worried that I would not find that perfect shot, or that I was taking too many pictures of signs, or the garden, or of food. But, in the great tradition of creative mindfulness (or perhaps vacant acceptance), I let the thoughts go without judging or attaching too much to them and they gradually faded into the background. I came away on holiday, to new places, new photographs. On to month eleven.

~ by korechronicles on October 31, 2008.

3 Responses to “[October review]”

  1. I’m glad you didn’t give up. I am still going to look at that evening on the beach picture every day. *sigh*.

    And what will you do next, once you’ve finished the last couple of months of this? Any plans?

  2. Your pictures are always magnificent, don’t worry. You’ve isnpired me to learn how to USE my camera- above and beyond the vile point n click auto everything method. And I now take much better piccys as a result.

    So thank you.

    J

  3. Hmmm. The thought of next year occurred to me for the first time while I was writing this post. And it’s like “From May’s keyboard to the World” because someone else posed it out of the blue this afternoon.
    I will have to do something, I have learnt so much from this project. And how will I fill in my otherwise empty days? Any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

 
