314/366 [Weekend baking]

img_5232_1

I can remember the day that all that was on the table was a small plate of fruit, a bowl of jelly snakes and a packet of biscuits. All destined to be afternoon tea for 44 cricketers and 4 umpires on a hot November day. I was embarrassed that the opposition was to be so poorly welcomed to the Old Boys Cricket* Club. So, even though I have told anyone who cared to listen to smack me down hard next time I put my hand up to volunteer for something, clearly one of them didn’t listen. The one who plays cricket. This is my third season. I tell myself it is only ten Saturdays and then do the happy dance on the rare occasion that the game is cancelled due to rain. But there is some satisfaction to see the anticipation on their faces when they see the tray of scones, jam and cream on the table. Even if it takes only 10 minutes to eat the lot.

* The rules of cricket as explained on a china tea plate much loved by my mother:

You have two sides, one out in the field and one in. each man that’s in goes out, and when he’s out he comes in and the next man goes in until he is out. When they are all out, the side that has been out comes in and the side that has been in goes out and tries to get those coming in, out. Sometimes you get players still in and not out.

When a man goes out to go in, the men who are out try to get him out, and when he is out, he goes in the next man in goes out and goes in. There are two men called umpires who are out all the time, and they decide when the men who are in are out. When both sides have been in and all the players have been out, and both sides have been out twice after all the players have been in, including those who are not out, that is the end of the game.


~ by korechronicles on November 9, 2008.

2 Responses to “314/366 [Weekend baking]”

  1. Yum! I too am prone to the volunteering without thinking, but it is nice to be appreciated isn’t it? It kind of makes it all worth while.

  2. Mmmmmmmmmm, scones. They look splendid.

    My little brother played cricket. I nobly went along to several matches, and sat on the grass drinking nasty tea out of a paper cup and trying not to read Obviously. I still do not understand anything at all about cricket, except that occasionally fielders will fall over you.

Leave a Reply

 
