315/366 [Not Charlotte’s Web]

img_5242_1

But a poem from E.B. White anyway…

The Spider’s Web

The spider, dropping down from twig,

Unfolds a plan of her devising,

A thin, premeditated rig,

To use in rising.

And all that journey down through space,

In cool descent and loyal hearted,

She spins a ladder to the place,

From where she started.

Thus I, gone forth as spiders do

In spider’s web a truth discerning,

Attach one silken thread to you

For my returning.

Persistence, as with all spiders. We spent a whole afternoon on the weekend cleaning all evidence of spiders from our eaves and spouting. Guess we need not have bothered.

~ by korechronicles on November 11, 2008.

4 Responses to “315/366 [Not Charlotte’s Web]”

  1. Yep, they just come straight back! We just had new security screen doors put in on the front door and the sliding door onto the front deck, they look freakishly clean next to my very cobwebby windows, porch light and brick-work. I will do a de-webbing before we put out all the Christmas lights but most of the time I just leave them there.

  2. Bother, meant to say I like the poem, I’ve never come across anything other than his kids’ books before.

  3. gorgeous photo.
    beautiful poem.

  4. God, I’ve only just got over the sharks, and I have no particular phobia regarding them.

    Spiders, on the other hand, I am petrifed of; Hubby has to remove them from my vicinity on a regular basis. Tell me you don’t get the black widowy-redbacky things IN YOUR HOMES! Surely they have the good manners to stay outside? NO? Eeeeeek!

    Dear God. You Australians are brave.
    By the way, I’m good with snakes, if you ever encounter one. I could view a snake photo with equanmity. Hubby, on the other hand, despite his arachnid prowess, is a big snake-sissy, and he can’t do appealing old toads or harmless little moths, either.

Leave a comment