322/366 [Connection and Reconnection]

img_5337_1

Short and succinct, just the relevant names and birthdates, neatly inscribed on the age-marked back of an old fashioned photograph. A photograph of a young man, long dead, clearly dressed in his best clothes in honour of the occasion. A man I never met but who is linked to me by both blood and the DNA that provides our genetic code. He is my cousin’s Great Grandfather and the younger brother of my Great-Grandmother. Our respective families fell out sometime in the early 1930s and while no-one survives who remembers the details, it is clear that my mother was the catalyst that sparked the conflict. Today, for the very first time, I met his ever-so-charming and exceedingly elderly grandson, my second cousin once removed, if I understand the connections correctly. He gave me the opportunity to copy his photographs and, over tea and buttered bun told me stories of my grandparents and mother – tiny, precious stories that I had never heard. And I was grateful for the invisible threads that had linked us together at last.

~ by korechronicles on November 18, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
