337/366 [Advent countdown]

img_5450_1

I had caught a glimpse of this felt advent calendar from the street and wandered into the florists to have a closer look. “One of our clients makes them at home.” said the florist. “They are all handsewn.” It was a lot more expensive than my budget allowed. I went back a couple of times, really wanting to buy it but uncertain about the extravagence of the purchase. There was only one left when I had finally made up my mind. Every Christmas since then, it has adorned the wall on the family room. Once upon a time, each child had their favourite and took it in turns to take one of the felt ornaments out of its numbered pocket and hang it on the tree above each night before they went to bed. Nowadays, it is left to me to hang them. My favourite is still the Christmas pudding.

~ by korechronicles on December 2, 2008.

One Response to “337/366 [Advent countdown]”

  1. I love it! I love it! And the teeny holly berry on the Christmas pudding! It is now my favourite too.

Leave a Reply

 
