338/366 [Heating up]

img_5466_1

Simmer the orange and lemon peel in the sugar syrup for twenty minutes, then leave to cool overnight. The kitchen smells of citrus and sugar. The special secret ingredient of my Christmas pudding is almost ready and once I buy the bottle of Cointreau tomorrow I will have run out of excuses for not having it done two weeks ago. Previous versions have been made anywhere from two months to one day before the Big Christmas Dinner. And every single one of them has tasted fantastic.

~ by korechronicles on December 3, 2008.

2 Responses to “338/366 [Heating up]”

  1. I am envious of your gas! I have a set of old-fashioned sealed rings that take half an hour to heat or cool.
    I keep saying I will make my own Pud again – I did a few years ago – but actually looking up a recipe and assembling the ingredients has not actually happened. It doesn’t help that I find Christmas Pud a bit stodgy – something lighter and nuttier would appeal more – hence the motivation is not quite there.

    I have Cointreau here, and shall have a swift nip, AHEM COUGH, umm, feed my Christmas cake, I mean, in your honour. Cheers!

  2. See, if I tried that, I’d drink the booze, burn the smelly bits and give it up as a bad job šŸ™‚

    J

Leave a Reply

 
