365/366 [Running out]

img_5741_1

Had I completed this project last year, photo 365 would have been my last. But I could not sustain it and so, this time last year, I made the decision to give it another go. My primary motivation was purely to see if I could finish something I had started. But now, so close to the finish, I realise it has given me far more than I could have imagined. It is the tiny things that matter and bring meaning.

This day brought sad news on two fronts – a former colleague lost his battle with cancer in the prime of his life, and the brand new grandaughter of an old friend lived for only six days. Our lives are fragile, transitory and fleeting. I am conscious of that every day. But to be grieving while the world celebrates seems like a spectacularly hard ask.

~ by korechronicles on December 30, 2008.

One Response to “365/366 [Running out]”

  1. You are already trying out 2009 for size as I type this. I always find New Year’s Eve depressing, and frequently head off to bed early, eschewing the party mood, with no excuse other than being a curmudgeon. You have experienced two staggeringly sad events. That is truly dreadful news on both counts, and I’m so very, very sorry.

Leave a Reply

 
