[Attitude adjustment]

When the official city temperature, taken in the shade last Thursday, reached 45.1C (113.1F) it was clearly hotter out here on the city outskirts. The thermometer in my car, which has never been wrong in six years, was reading 49.5C (121+F)! And when, on Saturday, we were remarking how cool and fresh 33C (91F) seemed, it should come as no surprise that any inner reserves I may have been drawing on after surgery, completely deserted me.

The 4 pins holding my toes straight were taken out on Hellishly Hot Thursday. In a surgery where the air-conditioning was broken. And the air-conditioned haven of my home? Without power for nineteen hours as a transformer in our street exploded under the strain. And in all the excitement I failed to drink one thousand litres of enough water to stay hydrated. Hello sunstroke, with all its attendant symptoms.

My one woman pity party is over. I am better. My feet, not so much. Still plenty ouchy, but I am wearing real shoes even if they are the ugliest pair on the planet. And tomorrow? Tomorrow I am allowed to get in the pool. Watch for the splash.

~ by korechronicles on February 3, 2009.

11 Responses to “[Attitude adjustment]”

  1. Yeah…I am glad you are healing. I had to wear those ugly shoes for a while, but who cares, they are shoes! 🙂 Keep feeling better!

  2. Hope you can cool down and you keep making progress. It sounds like the pool is the place to be!

  3. Oh how I know the feeling. I had a foot operation some years ago and was in plaster for 8 weeks, I would wake in the middle of the night with a sort of claustrophobia of the leg – seriously, I felt I so constrained by this thing that I would be trying to pull it off. I counted the days until I could get into flat ugly shoes – and I didn’t have the heat to deal with – good job you have the blog to let off steam 😉

  4. I heard on the news tonight about the heatwave in southern Australia. My goodness, I don’t think I could cope with those temperatures. Enjoy the pool!

  5. All that heat YIKES!! I hope you are feeling better and back in full swing soon.

  6. I’m glad you’re better! But to tell the truth, I’d rather stay up here in the cold rather than face 113 degrees!

  7. Glad your are healing, there ought to be a widget to average out the temps and everyone could be comfy..

  8. Ouch.

    Oh my.

    I’d have taken the pins out for you in airconditioned comfort, I’ve got pliers somewhere, and if they were K wires, no worries! Really, you just yank on the ends.

    I concur on the temperatures in this neck of the woods, too. Insanely, road meltingly HOT.

    J

  9. Yay to shoes again! Enjoy your time in the pool…those temps are incredible. WOW. I can’t even imagine.

  10. Robyn, I hope you feel a little bit better every day. When I broke my ankle last summer, we came home to a condo with a broken air-conditioner and a heat wave for New England. I can relate…

  11. Oh, I’m so pleased that your toes are out and wiggly again!
    I DID hear a splashy sound whilst I was in Wales, here was me thinking it was the rain!

Leave a Reply

 
