[Unsettling]

I have twice been evacuated from my home of the time due to bushfires and on two other occasions have been watching fire approach and waiting to be given the order to go. For fifteen months I taught in a rural primary school and became an expert at scanning the sky around me for signs of smoke and knowing what to do in the case of a fire emergency. In our locality, on the edge of metropolitan  Melbourne, our protection from fire is provided by the Country Fire Authority, with a core of permanent firefighters supported by a large group of volunteers. Tonight, over 3000 of them are out fighting to stop fires from engulfing people and homes after a day of 47C temperatures and 100 knot winds. It is impossible to express our gratitude to them for the scale of their efforts.

As we sat on our balcony watching the smoke clouds and a fiery orange glow over the Kinglake Ranges to the north-east there were helicopters flying back and forth but it was too dark to know if they were emergency services or news crews. The late news has confirmed fatalities from these fires. Even though we are well prepared and have a fire plan in place, on days of Total Fire Ban I am  constantly on edge. Today was no exception.

~ by korechronicles on February 7, 2009.

11 Responses to “[Unsettling]”

  1. Robyn, I hope the fire situation is tamed soon and you can breathe easier.

  2. Hoping you’ll soon get relief from the horrible heat and fire danger…

  3. It must be really scary seeing the smoke and even flames not that far from you. My husband still has relatives living in Sydney and we had a lovely holiday over Christmas and New Year visiting them. We went out to Uluru and down to Adelaide too. The weather was great then, not too hot so we were lucky.
    I hope it cools down for you soon and that they manage to tame the fires.
    Cathy

  4. I hope things will settle down soon and the fires will diminish as well as the heat. Hope you are feeling better.

  5. I spent yesterday smelling acrid smoke and checking for close fires. We had several in our area and we’re backing on fields. Not fun at all.

    J

  6. Me again. I just turned on the news. 65 dead and counting. 700 homes. Lots of burnt out cars stuck on roads, obviously the occupants didn’t make it out.

    I think I feel sick.

    J

  7. It is just incomprehensible. I attend a book making group in an area that is under ember attack and I have just heard that one of the girls in the group has lost her house. She and her husband are safe. What has made me feel really sick is that Life Partner went out at 6.30am yesterday for his usual two hour Saturday bike ride – through Panton Hill, Hurstbridge, St Andrews, Strathewen and Kinglake. He did the same thing on Ash Wednesday but ignores my advice to stay home on days like yesterday because he feels I overdramatise the risk. He is very subdued at the moment. That orange glow last night and the death toll on tonight’s news really focussed his attention on what might have been.

  8. Have seen the news and can’t believe the scale of things. Hoping hard it’ll be over soon.

  9. You have been in my thoughts and prayers often. I pray that the fires will be put down soon and that the temperatures moderate. I guess the most appalling thing about many of these fires is that they think they were intentionally set. It sounds like you are as prepared as you can be.

  10. I don’t know what to say – I feel any comment I make will sound trite, however, I truly wish for you all that the fires and heat dies down very, very soon. I can’t imagine what you are going through.

    I will follow this thread to hear how you are doing.

  11. […] 8:15pm and displayed in this photo gallery of the Age newspaper. Taken about an hour before I wrote this post on Saturday night, it was the glow you can see in this photo – from the far left to about two […]

Leave a Reply

 
