Day 9/2012 {Brisk}

On first look this might seem an odd match for the theme given that this exercise book has spent almost seven years hidden away in a box in our garage and the books themselves are more than 60 years old. The box held 11 notebooks that were my mother’s entire notes for her Diploma of Horticulture, completed in 1948 and paid for by a grateful government in exchange for the five years she served in the Air Force during WWII. Botany, viticulture, chemistry, garden design, propagation, weekly reviews, fruit culture, entymology, pruning and demonstrations. In near perfect condition. I could not bring myself to throw them away but, given the ever diminishing storage space at Villa Kore, I have come to accept that I cannot be an archivist for more than a tiny amount of my late parent’s belongings in perpetuity.

I made a quick phone call to the college where these notes were taken and asked if they were interested in them for their archives. Indeed we are, was the brisk response, and we have the courier coming this afternoon so could I get them there by 5pm? I could and I  did. Despite feeling slightly sick the whole way. Driving away from the campus afterwards I could not resist thinking how my mother would love the fact the college is now part of the University of Melbourne. She had always regretted not going to university. I am grateful that I could make a quick decision and briskly put it into action. It is not my usual modus operandi.

~ by korechronicles on January 9, 2012.

2 Responses to “Day 9/2012 {Brisk}”

  1. So, in the end, your mother DID go to University. I think archives are a wonderful thing and any day now somebody is going to be absolutely fascinated and delighted by those notebooks. You’ve done a great thing and I am glad all that work went to a great home.

    My mother has long-since binned all her textiles and arts notebooks. Despite the fact she is a Pack-Rat turned up to 11. I feel a bit wistful about it now.

  2. Donating the notes would have been a real wrench for me, if I’d had anything similar. But it is nice to think they’re where many will appreciate them, adding a bit to History.

    g

Leave a Reply

 
