19/2012 {Tattered and torn}

“Use it up, wear it out, make it do or do without” was the mantra of so many of the adults in my life who had suffered through the Great Depression. I apply its instruction inconsistently – too quick to toss out something I could easily fix, too slow to get rid of stuff that is just not worth fixing. This tablecloth is years old and showing its age as it unravels into tiny holes. I was a Brownie and a Girl Guide so I know how to darn and as I was ironing this today I had a much longer debate in my head as to whether I should grab a needle and thread immediately or simply fold it up as is and throw it out.

Its blue and white checks always make me think of picnics in Provence, so I pressed to wrinkle free status and put it away. The worn spots simply add to its character.

~ by korechronicles on January 19, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
