28/2012 {The written word}

Image

The Great 2012 Declutter Project has seen me spending many hours of what was previously my down time, digging through the boxes of stored stuff in our garage and loft. The last week has been devoted to about a dozen boxes that I threw together when we had to empty the house after my mother died. Seven years ago on Monday. What can I say? I’m a Master Procrastinator.

And, I have to confess, there is probably a bit of like mother, like daughter going on since scattered through my mother’s things are boxes of stuff she packed and brought home from the house by the beach after her mother died. Thirty-six years ago. So, yes…there are issues. With stuff, and with the decision making involved in determining what to do with it.

Most of it has gone to recycling or the bin. But, unexpectedly, there are small surprises. Like the tiny plastic strawberries I found in the first box I opened. And then this. It was so black with tarnish I could not determine what was written on it, or what it was made from. Just that it was a brooch of some kind.

Aluminium foil, washing soda and boiling water dealt with the worst of it, and after a solid half hour of hard work with a polishing cloth, the words Commonwealth of Australia 1914 appeared around the edge of the piece. The Latin inscription on the reverse refers to King George V which means this particular copper halfpenny was made in Great Britain. The silver centre with the Australian coat of arms is a 1914 threepence. I can only assume this was something madeĀ  to commemorate a family member lost in the first year of the Great War.

Since my grandparents did not arrive in Australia until 1926, it cannot have been theirs and I will never know how it came to be in their possession. Now I just have to decide what to do with it.

~ by korechronicles on January 28, 2012.

One Response to “28/2012 {The written word}”

  1. I think my father has pictures of Mussolini and his lady strung up. I have no idea how my grandfather, who was in the war but staioned firmly in a tank in africa got hold of them, however, but I have even less idea what I’ll do with them if they come my way in due course. War museum?

    g

Leave a Reply

 
